Monday, 30 November 2015

Cream Of The Crop - With 10% Off! Vinyl Chart

For Cyber Monday Juno Records have 10% off all new releases for 1 day only. The offer applies to everything released after October 1st 2015.

Start the player or follow the links to check out my top 30 recommendations. Use the code JUNOXMAS at checkout before 12 midnight to get your discount.

my link to juno records

Wednesday, 25 November 2015

Dig Deep on Cowbell Radio #28 with Robert Tomlinson (Jelly Roll Soul)

For the last show of the year I am pleased to welcome Scottish based DJ, Club Promoter and Record Label owner Robert Tomlinson to Dig Deep on Cowbell Radio.

A time served DJ, Robert has been spinning since the 90's and is one third of the Stirling based Jelly Roll Soul club night. The close-knit crew have had the likes of Jay Daniel, Fred P, House Of Traps, Aiden D'Araujo, and Space Dimension Controller up in the headline spot. Plus Kyle Hall and Funkineven made their Scottish debuts there.

Not ones to shrink back from sharing their love of the music, the trio are about to launch their own record label - more on that in the interview below.

Saturday, 14 November 2015

Cream Of The Crop - Short Days And Dark Nights Vinyl Chart

As the days get shorter and the dark nights get longer I find myself drawn to the deeper more electronic end of things. Gone is the vibrancy of summer, it's time for some heads down music...

The Number 1 spot goes to Part 3 of the new Vibes LP from Future Times. Shanti Celeste's 'Strung Up' is a lovely slice of future boogie dripping with the sound of Detroit. C'est Life (aka Jack J) rounds off the 5 tracker with 'New Years Eve 2013' and fans of his recent EPs on Mood Hut will immediately spot his distinctive style.

Floating Points snaps up Number 2 with his highly anticipated 'Elaenia' Album. And it is a proper LP too, none of this 8 bangers and we're out of here business... Whilst 'Nespole' is my personal favourite and 'For Marmish' and 'Peroration Six' stand out, the 7 tracks are intended to be listened to in full and uninterrupted. It's been a long time since I looked forward to listening to an album as much as I did with this one.

Number 3 goes to Amsterdam based don Mr Mendel for his 2nd EP on Basic Fingers. The 3 tasty slices of Disco and a Brazilian cut show why he is currently one of the world's most in demand DJs. I've been waiting to get my hands on 'Looking For A Girl' since he dropped in his mix for Dig Deep Mix back in April last year - and more than a year later Mr Mendel's edit of Little Beaver - 'Listen To My Heartbeat' still sounds great!

Levon Vincent steals 4th as he takes us into darker territory with a two tracker on Novel Sound.  On the A Side we get the deep Techno funk of 'The Fear'. The track was featured on his Fabric mix CD back in April 2012 and fans have been waiting for it to get a vinyl release ever since.  Levon has teamed up with Marcel Dettmann on the B Side for a more upbeat affair of synths and bleeps to deliver a sure fire floor worker. Released on both Pink Vinyl and regular Black, the coloured vinyl sold out in a matter of hours...

At Number 5 LNRDCROY delivers two almost ambient tracks. Both 'Freedom For Antboy II' and 'Donny On The River' are delicious pieces of string laiden chillage to ease your mind to. Whilst 'Terragem' on the B Side is one of those lovely bubbling acid House numbers that is the aural equivalent of getting into a warm bath.

And that's just the Top 5. Start the player or follow the links for the full Top 30.

my link to juno records

Friday, 6 November 2015

Dig Deep Recommends: From Hell With Love LP (LumberJacks In Hell)

The Lumberjacks are back with another essential slice of House and Disco to celebrate 5 years of the label. The first pressing of the From Hell With Love LP sold out in a matter of days. But fear not, the label appears to have duly repressed one of the year's most anticipated albums for the snoozers that missed it a few weeks ago - little known factoid, the first press printed "upside" down, which was rectified on the 2nd pressing.

Featuring a new cast of producers alongside regular jackers Marcel Vogel and Boogie Nite, the 8 tracks will no doubt keep the groovers out there happy for a long time to come. We say Future Classic!